Policy on after hours access by research personnel to research laboratories

Purpose

The University of Ottawa makes available lab facilities on its campus to its faculty, staff and students for instructional and research activities.  Access to research labs is given to those who are trusted to make responsible use of the lab and its resources.  Generally, University buildings are vacated and locked at the end of normal working, study or teaching hours. While it is encouraged that research be conducted in the labs during the regular business hours of the University (June-August : 8:45 am to 4 pm and 8:45 am to 5 pm during rest of the year), it is recognized that certain research activities may require access to the labs outside regular business hours, on weekends and holidays.

The purpose of this Policy is to set out the responsibilities of faculty, staff, students and any other user authorized to be in the lab after hours or when the University building is closed.  It must also be read in conjunction with other University policies related to security, health and safety, and environmental management, including Policy 33 “Security Policy”, Policy 35 “Key Control”, Policy 72 “Environmental Policy”, Policy 77 “Occupational Health and Safety” and Policy 91 “Environmental Management” and other guidelines, manuals, permits, directives or instructions from the following authorities:

  • University
  • Office of Risk Management
  • Health, Safety and Risk Management
  • Regulatory bodies

Definitions

For the purposes of this Policy,

  1. After hours normally refers to those hours outside of 7:30 a.m. and 6:00 p.m., any other hours set by the University as being its regular business hours, those hours after the building is locked, holidays and weekends.
  2. Professor refers to the member of the academic staff of the University who is responsible for the Research, holds the authority over the conduct of the Research and the Research Personnel and includes the principal investigator and supervisor.
  3. Research means activities undertaken by the Principal Investigator, Professor or Research Personnel for purposes of scholarly inquiry and the pursuit of knowledge or to study a particular question regardless of the source or status of funding.
  4. Research Personnel includes all persons directly or indirectly engaged or involved in Research and includes, but is not limited to, Professors, visiting scientists, undergraduate students, graduate students, visiting students, research associates, postdoctoral fellows, research fellows, University support staff and technicians.

Permission to obtain access after hours

Professors, graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, research associates, research fellows, visiting scientists, support staff and technicians whose performance of duties require access to the lab may have access to the labs at all times for the purpose of conducting Research.  In instances where other Research Personnel requires access to the labs after hours, the individual must discuss the experimental procedure with the Professor and obtain his or her written permission for access during a given period.

Working Alone

Careful and adequate supervision is in the best interest of the Research Personnel, the University and the academic community. Research Personnel must be mindful of the inherent risks, dangers, hazards in undertaking Research in a lab and that those risks, dangers and hazards may lead to injury or property damage.  Working alone in the lab, especially after hours, is strongly discouraged.  Research personnel must carefully assess whether working alone in the lab is prudent under the circumstances.  If working alone in the lab, especially after hours, is unavoidable, Research personnel must follow safe work procedures, including those procedures outlined in the Laboratory Procedures and Safety Manual.

If working in the lab after hours, Research Personnel are encouraged to carry their University of Ottawa identification card and to call Protection Services at extension 5499 and identify themselves, the lab, the location and the approximate duration of their stay in the lab.  This is for information purposes only so that, should there be a problem in the building in which the lab is located, Protection Services will know who may be present after hours.

Research personnel

Research Personnel must complete and sign all forms or other documentation required by the Faculty or the University in order to obtain keys or security access cards.  Examples of these forms include the Orientation for Laboratory Personnel form, Keys form and are attached to this Policy.

Unauthorized users

Research personnel who are permitted to conduct research in the lab after hours may not permit any other person to obtain access to the lab after hours.  Research personnel shall not lend their key or security access card to other persons and must take steps to ensure that no other person uses their key or security access card to access the University’s premises.  Family, friends, guests, visitors or any other unauthorized individual are prohibited from obtaining access to the lab after hours. 

Access may be prohibited

The Faculty or the University may prohibit access to the lab to those who fail to abide by any health and safety Regulations, this Policy or any other University policy, regulation, guideline, practice, direction or instruction.

Further information

Questions or requests for further information on the application or interpretation of this policy may be directed to the Health, Safety and Risk Manager.

Orientation for laboratory personnel

Contact info

Health, Safety and Risk Manager
Pubalee Bera
Telephone: 613-562-5800, ext. 6425
Tabaret Hall, room 332
pbera@uOttawa.ca

Health, Safety and Risk Assistant
Carl Farah
Telephone: 613-562-5800, ext. 4580
CAREG Hall, room 516
science.safety@uOttawa.ca

Facility Manager
Sean Kirkwood
Telephone: 613-562-5800, ext. 6030
Tabaret Hall, room 378B
skirkwoo@uOttawa.ca

Facility Coordinator
David Needham
Telephone: 613-562-5800, ext. 6020
Tabaret Hall, room 336
science.facility@uOttawa.ca

Back to top

Directive sur l’accès aux laboratoires de recherche en dehors des heures habituelles

Objectif

L’Université d’Ottawa met ses laboratoires à la disposition de son corps professoral, de son personnel et de ses étudiantspour l’enseignement et la recherche. L’accès aux laboratoires de recherche est accordé aux personnes jugées aptes à utiliser ces laboratoires et leurs ressources de façon responsable. Les édifices de l’Université sont habituellement inoccupés et verrouillés à la fin des heures normales de travail, d’études ou d’enseignement. L’Université recommande que la recherche en laboratoire se déroule pendant les heures d’ouverture habituelles (de juin à août, de 8 h 45 à 16 h et pendant le reste de l’année, de 8 h 45 à 17 h); toutefois, elle reconnaît que certains travaux de recherche peuvent nécessiter un accès aux laboratoires en dehors des heures habituelles en semaine, ainsi que les fins de semaine et les jours fériés.

La présente directive établit les responsabilités des membres du corps professoral, du personnel, des étudiants et de tout autre utilisateur autorisé à se trouver dans un laboratoire en dehors des heures normales ou lorsqu’un édifice de l’Université est fermé. Il faut la lire en tenant compte également d’autres règlements de l’Université liés à la sécurité, à la santé et à la gestion de l’environnement (y compris les règlements 33 – Règlement sur la sûreté, 35 – Contrôle des clés, 72 – Protection environnementale, 77 – Règlement sur la santé et la sécurité et 91 – Gestion de l’environnement), ainsi que d’autres lignes directrices, manuels, permis, directives ou instructions préparés par :

  • l’Université;
  • le Bureau de la gestion du risque;
  • l’équipe de la Gestion de la santé, de la sécurité et du risque de la Faculté des sciences;
  • des organismes de réglementation.

Définitions

Les définitions qui suivent s’appliquent au présent règlement :

  1. en dehors des heures signifie i) les heures en dehors de la plage habituelle de 7 h 30 à 18 h, ii) toute autre plage d’heures que l’Université fixe comme étant ses heures normales d’ouverture, iii) les heures après qu’un édifice est verrouillé, iv) les jours fériés et v) les fins de semaine.
  2. professeur signifie le membre du personnel enseignant de l’Université qui est responsable de la recherche (y compris le chercheur principal ou le superviseur) et qui détient l'autorité pour mener les travaux de recherche et diriger le personnel de recherche.
  3. recherche correspond aux activités entreprises par le chercheur principal, le professeur ou le personnel de recherche pour mener des travaux savants, approfondir les connaissances ou étudier une question précise, peu importe la source ou l’état du financement.
  4. personnel de recherche comprend toute personne participant directement ou indirectement à la recherche, y compris les suivantes : professeurs, chercheurs invités, étudiants de premier cycle, étudiants des cycles supérieurs, étudiants invités, associés de recherche, stagiaires postdoctoraux, chercheurs-boursiers, personnel de soutien et techniciens.

Permission d’entrer en dehors des heures habituelles

Les professeurs, les étudiants des cycles supérieurs, les stagiaires postdoctoraux, les associés de recherche, les chercheurs-boursiers, les chercheurs invités, le personnel de soutien et les techniciens dont les fonctions exigent l’accès au laboratoire peuvent y avoir accès en tout temps pour effectuer des recherches. Si d’autres membres du personnel de recherche demandent l’accès aux laboratoires en dehors des heures habituelles, ils doivent discuter de la procédure expérimentale avec le professeur responsable et obtenir sa permission écrite pour y accéder durant une période donnée.

Travailler seul

Une surveillance attentive et adéquate est dans l’intérêt du personnel de recherche, de l’Université et de la communauté universitaire. Le personnel de recherche doit tenir compte des risques et des dangers inhérents aux travaux de recherche en laboratoire et se rappeler que ces risques et ces dangers peuvent entraîner des blessures ou des dommages aux biens. Il est fortement déconseillé de travailler seul en laboratoire, surtout en dehors des heures normales. Le personnel de recherche doit évaluer attentivement la situation pour voir s’il est prudent de travailler seul dans le laboratoire. S’il est impossible d’éviter d’y travailler seul, surtout en dehors des heures habituelles, le personnel de recherche doit alors observer des pratiques de travail sécuritaire, y compris celles présentées dans le Manuel de sécurité en laboratoire (en anglais seulement).

Les membres du personnel travaillant dans les laboratoires en dehors des heures habituelles devraient avoir en leur possession leur carte d’identité de l’Université d’Ottawa. Ils devraient également appeler le Service de la protection (poste 5499) pour s’identifier et indiquer le nom du laboratoire et son emplacement, ainsi que le temps approximatif qu’ils y passeront. Ces renseignements sont demandés à titre informatif seulement; s’il survient un problème dans l’édifice, le Service de la protection saura alors qui pourrait s’y trouver en dehors des heures normales.

Personnel de recherche

Le personnel de recherche doit remplir et signer les formulaires et tout autre document exigés par la faculté intéressée ou l’Université pour obtenir des clés ou des cartes d’accès. Parmi ces formulaires, mentionnons notamment le formulaire d’orientation à l’intention du personnel de laboratoire et le formulaire de demande de clés qui sont joints à ce règlement.

Utilisateurs non autorisés

Les membres du personnel de recherche autorisés à travailler dans le laboratoire en dehors des heures habituelles ne doivent pas laisser d’autres personnes y entrer. De plus, ils ne doivent pas prêter leur clé ou leur carte d’accès à d’autres personnes, et doivent prendre les mesures nécessaires pour empêcher que d’autres personnes utilisent leur clé ou leur carte d’accès pour entrer dans les installations de l’Université.

L’accès peut être interdit

La faculté intéressée ou l’Université peut interdire l’accès aux laboratoires à quiconque ne respecte pas les règlements en matière de santé et de sécurité, la présente directive ou tout autre règlement, ligne de conduite, pratique, directive ou instruction de l’Université.

Renseignements additionnels

Les questions sur l’application ou l’interprétation de la présente directive peuvent être transmises au gestionnaire, Santé, sécurité et risque.

Orientation à l’intention du personnel de laboratoire

Coordonnées

Gestionnaire, santé, sécurité et risque
Pubalee Bera
Tel: 613-562-5800, poste 6425
Pavillon Tabaret, pièce 322
pbera@uOttawa.ca

Adjoint à la santé, sécurité et risque
Carl Farah
Tel.: 613-562-5800, poste 4580
Pavillon CAREG, pièce 516
science.safety@uOttawa.ca

Gestionnaire de l'aménagement et des installations
Sean Kirkwood
Tel: 613-562-5800, poste 6030
Pavillon Tabaret, pièce 378B
skirkwoo@uOttawa.ca

Coordonateur de l'aménagement et des installations
David Needham
Tel: 613-562-5800, poste 6020
Tabaret, pièce 336
science.facility@uOttawa.ca

Haut de page