Scholarships and Awards

Departmental Undergraduate Scholarships

To be eligible, the candidate must be Canadian citizen or permanent resident, and full-time students registered to the major or specialisation in mathematics or statistics.

  • The Linis Admission Scholarship: The number of scholarships varies depending on the availability of funds and the level of the applicants' scores. Applicants are notified in the summer preceding their first term at the University of Ottawa, once the results of all the competitions are known.
  • Yvon Grandchamp Scholarship, Linis Mathematics Scholarship, Co-op Program Prize in Mathematics, and Wong-Ng Scholarship: These scholarships are awarded by the Scholarship Committee and distributed in December of each year. All students meeting these requirements are automatically considered for the awards, and no explicit application is needed.
  • Gordon Swartzen Memorial Scholarship This award is being given in the name of Gordon W. Swartzen. This fund was established by his wife, Ruth E. Swartzen, and daughter, Gail Ivanoff. This award is given once a year and the deadline to apply is September 30. If you want to apply, please read the following instructions and contact the The University of Ottawa Financial Aid and Awards Service, 85 University. Their telephone number is 613-562-5734.

Name of the Scholarship

Number of Scholarships Granted Each Year

Value of the Scholarship

Rules

Linis Admission Scholarship

varies

$1,000

The applicant must be from the Eastern Ontario or Western Quebec region and must be among those who have achieved the highest scores in the Euclid, the Descartes competition, or the Canadian Open Mathematics Challenge.

Yvon Grandchamp Scholarship

one or two

From $500 to $1,000

May be awarded to a student more than once.

Linis Mathematics Scholarship

varies

$1,000

May be awarded to a student more than once. The choice is based on the excellence of the academic record.

Co-op Program Prize in Mathematics

varies

$50

May be awarded to a student only once. Given to the best Work Term Report in a co-op program.

Wong-Ng Scholarship

varies

varies

May be awarded to a student only once. The choice is based on the excellence of the academic record.

Gordon Swartzen Memorial Scholarship

varies

varies

May be awarded to Ontario residents (as per OSAP rules), The student must demonstrate financial need as determined by the Financial Aid and Awards Service of the uOTtawa, and demonstrate academic excellence by means of grade point average and a letter of support from the Department of Mathematics and Statistics.

University and External Undergraduate Scholarships
  • It is also possible to earn money during the summer and learn mathematics or statistics at the same time. The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada offers Undergraduate Student Research Awards (USRA) in Universities. Talk to Michelle Lukaszczyk to get the list of professors in the department who have research projects for undergraduate students.
  • The Student Employment Program of the National Research Council Canada (NRC) gives the opportunity to outstanding students to work in a laboratory of the NRC. The NRC awards these positions based on the academic excellence of the candidate. The work is challenging and give the opportunity to the students to use their knowledge in concrete situation.
  • More scholarships and financial aid are available from various organizations, both internal and external to the University. Contact the The University of Ottawa Financial Aid and Awards Service of the University of Ottawa.
  • The Association of Professors of the University of Ottawa (APUO) also offers scholarships. For all details about these scholarships, please visit the site of the Student award programme of the APUO.
Back to top

Bourses d'études

Bourses départementales pour les études au premier cycle

Pour être admissible, il faut être citoyen canadien ou résident permanent, et être étudiant à temps plein inscrit à la majeure ou au programme spécialisé approfondi en mathématiques ou statistique.

  • Bourse d'admission Linis: Le nombre de bourses varie selon la disponibilité des fonds et les résultats des candidats au concours mentionnés précédemment. Les gagnants de cette bourse sont contactés durant l'été qui précède leur première session à l'Université d'Ottawa, après que les résultats des concours aient été annoncés.
  • Bourse Yvon Grandchamp, Bourse Linis en mathématiques, Bourse programme coop en mathématiques, et Bourse Wong-Ng : Ces bourses sont attribuées par le comité des bourses et distribuées au mois de décembre de chaque année. Tous les étudiants qui satisfont les critères d'admission sont automatiquement considérés pour ces bourses, sans qu'il leurs soit nécessaire de faire des démarches particulières.
  • Gordon Swartzen Memorial Scholarship La présente bourse est attribué en mémoire de Gordon W. Swartzen. Son épouse, Ruth E. Swartzen et sa fille, Gail Ivanoff ont établi le fonds de bourse en sa mémoire. Cette bourse est attribuée une fois par an et la date limite pour faire parvenir son application est le 30 septembre. Si vous voulez faire une demande pour cette bourse, veuillez lire les instructions suivantes et communiquez avec le Service de l'aide financière et des bourses de l'Université d'Ottawa, 85 Université. Leur numéro de téléphone est 613-562-5734.

Nom de la bourse

Nombre de bourses accordées chaque année

Valeur de la bourse

Règles

Bourse d'admission Linis

variable

1 000$

Les candidats doivent provenir de l'est ontarien ou de l'ouest québécois et doivent faire partie de ceux qui ont obtenu les meilleurs résultats au concours Euclide, au concours Descartes ou à  l'Open canadien de Mathématiques. 

Bourse Yvon Grandchamp

une ou deux

de 500 $ à 1 000 $

Peut être attribuée plus d'une fois au même étudiant

Bourse Linis en Mathématiques

variable

1 000 $

Peut être attribuée plus d'une fois au même étudiant. La sélection est faite sur la base de l'excellence du dossier scolaire.

Bourse Programme Coop en Mathématiques

variable

50 $

Peut être attribuée seulement une fois à un même étudiant. Le prix est donné au candidat avec le meilleur rapport de stage dans un programme coopératif.

Bourse Wong-Ng

variable

variable

Peut être attribuée plus d'une fois au même étudiant. La sélection est faite sur la base de l'excellence du dossier scolaire.

Gordon Swartzen Memorial Scholarship

variable

variable

L'étudiant doit être résident de l'Ontario (règlements du Régime d'aide financière aux étudiants de l'Ontario). L'étudiant doit aussi démontrer un besoin d'aide financière, d'après les critères du Service de l'aide financière et des bourses de l'Université d'Ottawa, et faire preuve d'excellence scolaire évaluée selon la moyenne cumulative et une lettre d'appui du Département de mathématiques et de statistique.

Bourses externes et de l'Université pour les études au premier cycle
Haut de page