Faculty of Science Alumni Award of Excellence for 2018

The 2017 alumni awards recipients

2017 recipients: Siba Haykal and David Bergvinson with Dean Steve Perry

Call for nominations

The Faculty of Science is proud of the many achievements of its alumni, who play a major role in changing our society and contribute to breakthroughs that will significantly shape our future. Therefore, the Faculty invites its alumni to nominate candidates for the 2018 Faculty of Science Alumni Awards of Excellence.

Alumnus/Alumna Award of Excellence

Honours the exemplary talent, work and influence of our inspiring graduates. Recipients must have demonstrated leadership and outstanding achievement in their field, and have enhanced the reputation of the Faculty of Science and of the University of Ottawa.

    Young Alumnus/Alumna Award of Excellence

    Honours alumni 40 years of age or under who have made an outstanding contribution to their field or to the community. They inspire future generations of young graduates by their example.


    The committee will evaluate nominations on the basis of the following criteria:

    1. The nominee’s file, which must include the following documents:
      • a letter of nomination
      • a biography, CV or résumé
      • a list of the nominee’s major achievements
    2. The nominee’s outstanding excellence and achievement in a professional or social field
    3. The nominee’s leadership qualities
    4. The nominee’s potential to contribute to the prestige, influence and reputation of the Faculty
    5. The nominee’s strong, positive influence on the community

    Please submit nominations to Anne-Sophie Ducellier, Alumni Relations Officer, Faculty of Science before June 30, 2018.

    Past Recipients


    Alumni Award of Excellence

    David Bergvinson
    PhD in Biology - 1993

    Young Alumni Award of Excellence

    Siba Haykal Hunter
    BSc in Biochemistry - 2004
    MD - 2007


    Alumni Award of Excellence

    Jean-Paul Bédard
    BSc 1986 - Biology

    Young Alumni Award of Excellence

    Louis-Charles Campeau
    BSc 2003 - Biopharmaceutical Science; PhD 2008 - Chemistry

    Katherine Gibbs
    PhD 2012 - Biology

    Marie-Claude Robert
    BSc 2004 - Biochemistry; MD, 2008


    Denise Amyot
    BSc 1976 – Biology, BEd 1977, MEd 1991

    Robert J. Gorman
    BSc 1975 – Biology

    Debbie Pinard
    BSc 1979 – Physics and Mathematics

    Ashok K. Vijh, OC, FRSC, OQ
    PhD 1966 – Chemistry

    Ruey J. Yu, OMD
    PhD 1966  – Chemistry

    Contact Information

    Anne-Sophie Ducellier
    Alumni Relations Officer
    Tel.: 613-562-5800 ext. 3880
    Cell.: 613-462-2705

    Back to top