Awards & Honours

Steve Perry’s unusual scholarly achievement earns him the title of Distinguished University Professor

Professor Steve Perry stands on the grass in front of the sign for the STEM Complex on uOttawa Campus. We see the Biosciences Complex in the background.

The University of Ottawa confers the title of Distinguished University Professor in recognition of unusual scholarly achievement, pre-eminence in a particular field of knowledge and a solid teaching record.

Early-career researcher is making (structured quantum) waves at home and internationally

Professor Ebrahim Karimi receiving his award

Professor Karimi has earned two honorable titles this past academic year, which reflect his esteemed work in physics.

Professor Monica Nevins’ outstanding career in mathematics recognized with CMS Fellowship

Professor Monica Nevins was named Fellow of the CMS in recognition of her notable career in mathematics research, teaching and outreach, as well as her service to Canada’s mathematical community.

Unlocking the potential of catalysis for sustainable pharmaceutical synthesis

Professor Deryn Fogg was recently awarded the prestigious Rio Tinto Award, the Canadian Society for Chemistry’s highest honour in her field, for her work in catalysis.

Distinguished chemistry professor adds the 2020 Nicholas J. Turro Award to an ever-growing list of recognitions

Among uOttawa’s research leaders is Professor J.C. (Tito) Scaiano, who continually contributes to fruitful research and collaborations in the area of applied photochemistry.

A funding boost to accelerate the impact of our world-class research

This funding allows researchers to strengthen their teams with highly qualified personnel and equip their laboratories with state-of-the-art equipment to maximize the impact of their research projects.

All Awards and Honours

Recipient Department Awards and honours
Barriault, Louis CBS NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement
Boyd, Robert PHY Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada
Boyd, Robert PHY 2020 Frank Isakson Prize for Optical Effects in Solids from the American Physical Society
Corradi, Nicolas BIO NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement
Fogg, Deryn CBS 2020 Rio Tinto award from the Chemical Institute of Canada
Godin, Michel PHY NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement
Karimi, Ebrahim PHY Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light (MPL) Visiting Fellow
Karimi, Ebrahim PHY 2019/20 University of Ottawa Early Career Researcher of the Year Award
Khoury, Joseph MAT 2020 Canadian Mathematical Society Excellence in Teaching Award
Morand-Ferron, Julie BIO 2019/20 Faculty of Science Early Career Researcher of the Year Award
Nevins, Monica MAT Fellow of the Canadian Mathematical Society
Pelling, Andrew PHY Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology (UK)
Perry, Steve BIO Distinguished University Professeur
Pratt, Derek CBS 2019/20 Faculty of Science Award for Excellence in Research
Scaiano, Juan (Tito) CBS 2020 Inter-American Photochemical Society Nicholas J. Turro Award
Tabard-Cossa, Vincent PHY Royal Society of Canada College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists
Walker, Brett EES NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement


BIO: Department of Biology
CBS: Department of Chemistry and Biomolecular Sciences
EES: Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences
MAT: Department of Mathematics and Statistics
PHY: Department of Physics

Back to top