The Arthur-L.-Schawlow Prize is awarded to professor Robert W. Boyd

Posted on Thursday, January 7, 2016

The American Physics Society recently chose Professor Robert W. Boyd as winner of the 2016 Arthur-L.-Schawlow Prize in laser science, in recognition of his contribution to the advancement of knowledge on the fundamental physical properties of materials and their interaction with light. Professor of Physics and holder of the Excellence Research Chair in Canada in Quantum Nonlinear optics, Robert Boyd is a leader internationally in the field of photonics. By using nanotechnology to create new materials and structures, the research is very promising for the science of quantum information, quantum communication technology and biomedical imaging. Congratulations to Professor Boyd for this honor.

The price Schawlow was appointed in tribute to the late Arthur L. Schawlow, Canadian pioneer in the field of laser.

Back to top